top of page
Lawyer reading

Our Founding Treaties

The ICCAC abides to the Laws and Regulations of the United Nations Commission on International Trade Law (UNCITRAL) regarding the international sale of goods; international commercial dispute resolution; including both arbitration and conciliation; electronic commerce; insolvency; including cross-border insolvency; international transport of goods; international payments; procurement and infrastructure development; and security interests.

The ICCAC Founding Treaties guarantee due process and promote universal respect for the rule of law and compliance with legislation's and international laws and treaties. The Founding Treaties of the Court include but are not limited to:


  1. The United Nations Convention Against Corruption (UNCAC)

  2. The United Nations Convention Against Transnational Organized Crime (UNTOC)

  3. Protocol to Prevent, Suppress and Punish Trafficking in Persons, Especially Women and Children, supplementing the United Nations Convention against Transnational Organized Crime

  4. Protocol against the Smuggling of Migrants by Land, Sea and Air, supplementing the United Nations Convention against Transnational Organized Crime

  5. International Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Racial Discrimination (ICERD)

  6. Convention against Torture and Other Cruel, Inhuman or Degrading Treatment or Punishment (UNCAT)

  7. Principles of International Law Recognized in the Charter of the Nürnberg Tribunal and in the Judgment of the Tribunal

  8. Vienna Convention on the Law of Treaties (VCLT)

  9. Vienna Convention on Diplomatic Relations

  10. Vienna Convention on Consular Relations

  11. The International Organizations Immunities Act


as well as any other relevant international UN Convention or Treaty on the protection and enforcement against business or Government corruption.

The United Nations Convention against Corruption (UNCAC) is the only legally binding international anti-corruption multilateral treaty.  

Negotiated and ratified by 189 member states of the United Nations (UN) it has been adopted by the UN General Assembly in October 2003 and entered into force in December 2005.

The Convention covers five main areas: preventive measures, criminalization and law enforcement, international cooperation, asset recovery, and technical assistance and information exchange. The Convention covers many different forms of corruption, such as bribery, trading in influence, abuse of functions, and various acts of corruption in the private sector.

The UNCAC recognize the importance of both preventive and punitive measures, addresses the cross-border nature of corruption with provisions on international cooperation and on the return of the proceeds of corruption.

States Parties - countries that have ratified the Convention - are expected to cooperate in criminal matters and consider assisting each other in investigations of and proceedings in civil and administrative matters relating to corruption. The Convention further calls for the participation of civil society and non-governmental organizations in accountability processes and underlines the importance of citizens’ access to information.


ICCAC's goal is to reduce various types of business or Government corruption that can occur across country borders, such as trading in influence and abuse of power, as well as corruption in the private sector, such as embezzlement and money laundering. Another goal of the ICCAC is to strengthen international law enforcement and judicial cooperation between countries by providing effective legal mechanisms for holding “bad actors” accountable and international asset recovery.

ICCAC promotes transparency, accountability, and integrity in government and in business, including fidelity to the rule of law. As part of its mission, ICCAC regularly exposes business or Government employees, such as judges who did not follow the rule of law by violating the UN Anti Corruption Convention or trafficking in human beings unlawfully retained within their “jurisdiction”.

ICCAC analyzes these corruption cases and disseminates its findings and the violations of law by a business or any Government official to the public to inform them about “what their government is up to.”

The International Anti Corruption Court accepts universal jurisdiction based on the violation of national and international laws and treaties to prosecute individuals for the international crimes of corruption, human rights violations, and punish the trafficking in persons, especially women and children.

The International Criminal Court against Corruption was established to provide judicial oversight on existing national judicial systems. Therefore, it may only exercise its jurisdiction when certain conditions are met, such as when national courts have violated the UN Convention against Corruption, or violated International Laws & Treaties or are unwilling or unable to prosecute perpetrators of the UN Conventions or when the United Nations Security Council or individuals refer investigations to the Court.


The work of the International Criminal Court against Corruption is supported by 189 Nations who signed the UNCAC and further supported by all Nations who signed the United Nations Convention against Transnational Organized Crime.

The Court's founding treaty, called the United Nations Convention against Corruption, which has been signed by 189 Nations across the world, grants the ICCAC jurisdiction over corruption crimes to prevent and/or eliminate such crimes completely.

bottom of page